top of page

THE ONE WITH THE ORIGINAL WORK SPEECH

During the week of February 12 to February 18, the main accomplishments in the second year of the Independent Study and Mentorship program included presenting the original work speech as well as evaluating other fellow speakers of my ISM class.

While presenting my original work speech, I realized that I need to practice multiple times before final presentation night for the sake of coherence and confidence. I noticed that while I was speaking, I kept using filler words as well as looking back on my slides, which I believe is because I did not practice as much as I wanted to. I will be setting another personal goal of practicing my speech at least once every two weeks so that I do not lack preparation for FPN.

Along with evaluating my own speech, one of the other events was evaluating other students speeches. My room had an array of presentations including immigration law, choir conducting and animation. Watching their presentations gave me more ideas of presentation skills for enhancing my own speech, such as adding a financials section and also using more hand gestures. These details can definitely make my speech have more confidence and professionalism overall, achieving my goals stated in the mission statement.

Over the next few weeks, I hope to start working on my final product with Dr. Brinkman as well as continue researching the David and Bental procedures.

bottom of page